Wireless Door BellWireless Door Bell
I was thinking of doing some DIY the other day as the doorbell that is wired to the box in the kitchen no longer works (checked the batteries etc and still dead). 

As the wires seem to be behind walls, I had a bit of a dilemma, try and figure out what was wrong and possibly have to get a new box or feed some more wire through or get one of those doorbells that you simply plug into a plug socket, anywhere in the house for 20 quid.

I have to say the latter won hands down and only took 10 minutes to setup, the hardest bit was screwing the new doorbell in the door frame. The beauty of these door bells is that you can place them anywhere you want. I have placed mine in the dining room as it is the most central place in the house and now I can hear it ring no matter where I am.

Some of you may be thinking, don't I lose a plug socket if I plug a door bell receiver into one?

The answer is yes and no. There is a also a passthrough version of the receiver that allows you to plug something right into the back of it.

I got mine from B&Q (http://search.diy.com/search#w=wireless%20door%20chimes&asug=) and they have loads to choose from. If you're not bothered about multiple chimes, just go for the basic ones.




Leave a Reply.